Shaped Painting

My first material practice project involved creating a painting on a small shaped board using priming and under-painting techniques for a professional finish. My final piece was cut using a bandsaw in the shape of the female reproductive organs and painted with tigers and a single blue female form following the basic layout of the uterus and ovaries. Under-painting allowed me to add depth and structure, give defined edges and a more rounded feel, I used layers in order to round the bodies of the animals and figure.

img_0058

 

My initial design was more complex but focused on encompassing a sense of ferocity and female power and struggle.  I wanted to create something with a fantastical, symbolic narrative. I was inspired in part by the work of Mequitta Ahuja which I saw not too long ago for the first time in the Champagne Life exhibition at the Saatchi Gallery.

img_0061

Pictured above, her painting ‘Stick Stack’ shows strong powerful mythic women in fantastic settings built up in layers and layers of print and paint. Her works are part self-portraiture and part mythological, the ferocity and strength of them is really striking. I was oddly drawn to her choice of the colour blue in representing the female figure. In my work I felt the same blue perfectly resonated in the deep red of the uterus in which my figure was place. Red, I feel is symbolic when depicting femininity, the colour of menstruation it’s been used excessively in art tied to womanhood and female identity so definitely had a place in this experimental work.

img_0057

 

My final piece put into practice a variety of new skills that gave my painting a more professional and polished feel and I was fairly proud of the result, I certainly feel these new techniques are something to practice and refine further and there’s definitely space to build on these initial concepts when thinking about working towards my Inside/Outside brief.

 

 

Leave a Reply

