Grayson Perry on Masculinity

Grayson Percy’s current book “The Descent of Man” and documentary “All Man” as well as the works he produced in the BBC series have been incredibly thought provoking. It’s really made me think more deeply about the men in my life and the effect stifling gender roles has on male psyche. Growing up I was always closest to female family members and with the exception of a few I still feel a great distance towards many male family members. My relationships and encounters with straight-cis men have been difficult, and on occasion violent. Entering into a long term relationship with my partner has been difficult and healing and enlightening, Perry’s work has made me reassess and think about masculinity differently. I think there’s something really valuable in appreciating and acknowledging men through a feminine lens.

 

Leave a Reply

