Lazy Sunday

My first final piece is a 6ftx4ft acrylic on canvas painting. My concept for this in relation to the Inside/Outside theme was capturing an outside look in on an intimate/candid scene. I’ve been very interested in producing intimate/vulnerable images of men and how that could contribute towards a more healthy approach to masculinity. I utilised the painting techniques I’d developed from the Material Projects at the start of the year and I also developed a new skill in constructing a canvas from scratch. The canvas itself was an incredible feat, it was huge and the first one I’d made so it came with a lot of challenges, there were a lot of obstacles to overcome but after taking my time learning and constructing this one I’m confident I could repeat the process.

 

I primed the canvas with an acrylic gesso then set to work. I thought hard about my choice of colour and tried to stay with a blue/green palette picking out the sofa with accents of red to compliment the green.

Leave a Reply

